Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Home In The Panhandle

DSCF5046

DSCF5052

15 Responses to “Home In The Panhandle”

    • dinkerson

      I enjoy your site very much! If my work would be of interest, feel free to use it along with a link back.
      Thank you Sir Tabula.

      Reply
  1. Brian Phillips

    Very nice, Dink. Since I’ve been following your photography for a while, when I am traveling and spot a picturesque dilapidated house, I’ll think “That would be a nice house for the Dinkenator to photograph!”

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thanks, B! I’m enjoying this new blog of yours. Way to finally make it happen.
      Glad to get your thoughts on this post 😉

      Reply
  2. fragglerocking

    it looks like there is nothing else around for miles, what a great find. Nice muted tones and compositions, the sky is almost in B&W, fabulous work Dink 🙂

    Reply
  3. SuzyHazelwood

    I was just looking at the previous picture and wondering if that was the ‘before’ and this the ‘after’!! 😀 Different building of course!

    Poor little house, looks like someone didn’t look after it too well. Or is it a barn? Hard to tell from the distance. Anyway, good capture, and you got it before it disappears altogether.

    Reminds me of a story I recorded when I was a seven years old fascinated with our new tape recorder – about a falling down house with two clever cats that flew away on the magic carpet. I described the house as old and tattered with a lot of wood about. The ‘wood about’ description made my Dad laugh for many years, and I’m sure if he was alive today and saw this picture he’d say “That’s the house!” 😉

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Great comment, Suzy. And this is indeed a house.
      I would laugh too if my daughter used that description. What strikes me about this house is that there is surprisingly little scattered wood and debris. Typically, these old homesteads have a great deal of wood and old farm equipment, among other random objects, scattered all around the yard. This house, along with the yard, was very clean and tidy.
      It’s always good to see you around. Thanks for your very thoughtful comment.

      Reply
  4. rangewriter

    Oh I’m a sucker for falling down buildings, especially the old wood kind. Love the tonality. Did you achieve that with desaturation?

    Reply

Leave a comment