Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Nashville Arkansas

DSCF5020

17 Responses to “Nashville Arkansas”

  1. aussieian2011

    Good to see you back sharing your artistic photographic talents.
    You have a great flair for capturing the essence of your subject matter.
    Ian

    Reply
  2. LB

    The light and shadows are great here, especially the shadows of the 3 signs on the walls. The clouds are great, too!

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thanks! Glad to see you. Do you ever ride in the Eureka Springs Arkansas area? That’s where I live, and these hills an roads make for an awesome ride.

      Reply
      • LB

        It’s been over 20 years since I’ve been to Arkansas but I remember it as being beautiful to drive through. I’ve been pondering a ride on the Natchez Trace Parkway. I don’t know how close Eureka Springs is to any part of the parkway (I’ll do some map searching), but I’d like to get back to Arkansas someday for sure!

    • dinkerson

      So good to see you, Frag. I checked out your shots over there, and it looks like not only have you been shooting a great deal, but you’ve been working less and playing more too?
      If so, good for you. I highly recommend such behavior.

      Reply
  3. SuzyHazelwood

    We rarely see buildings like that in England! 🙂 It’s very smart, and bright, is it all made of wood? The little tower on the top is making me think of a church. Am I right? Good to see you back by the way! 🙂

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Yes, it is a church. This style of architecture is abundant along much of the South-Eastern states. The little church was interesting to me because of the second story; most of these small, white churches are single-story.
      You’re right that the building is made of wood. That’s something you see too little of with new buildings.
      Also, this church is located just a few miles from a house where my family lived when I was very young.
      I was traveling through on a business trip, and stopped to check things out along the way.

      Reply
  4. rangewriter

    One thing’s for sure. You don’t hang around here often enough for us to get tired of you. This is another great one. Interesting how you handled the high contrast. By just going with it you get some graphic patterns.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thanks! Of what little I’ve learned about this whole photography thing, one thing is that each photograph wants to look a certain way. You can’t force the natural light, and you can’t force what you want on a picture that insists on looking another way.
      I knew that this shot would be full of contrast, thus I adjusted the setting in my camera to take full advantage of it.
      Thanks for stopping by. I do try to not wear out my welcome. 😉

      Reply
      • rangewriter

        You know, I think I get that about photos resisting our preconceived notions. I’ve certainly manhandled my share of shots, and never to good end results.

  5. George Weaver

    A really fine image, Dink. You should share more with us! I love the clean contrasts here. And the perspective is unique and surprising. Photographs should surprise us by seeing the subject in a way that we wouldn’t have thought of ourselves. It was good to see you again! 🙂

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      George, it’s so great to see you around! I can’t believe that I haven’t responded to this. How rude of me! Well, I’m here now, and I have to tell you… I love getting your thoughts on what I do here.
      Surprising is good. These subjects capture my eye from a particular angle as I pass by; I then try to go back and find that angle that caught my attention. If I try to get some other point of view, it’s almost never as good as finding the pov that captured my attention in the first place.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

