Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

WWII Army & Navy Hospital

DSCF9554

This building is located in Hot Springs, Arkansas.
The site is still used as a career training center.

18 Responses to “WWII Army & Navy Hospital”

  1. rangewriter

    That is pretty amazing! The sky….lovely. The way the building plows out of the the sky, it makes me think of a ship. Nice processing.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thank you, Linda. πŸ™‚

      I like the description you’ve given here. I went back to look again, and I see exactly what you mean.
      the sky was working well for on this shoot. For me, it’s almost always all about the sky. I’ll seldom go out shooting if the clouds are dull. But that’s just me.

      Reply
  2. LB

    What an amazing building! I’ll have to do some research into it’s history. And your photo is terrific!

    Reply
  3. George Weaver

    Your sabbatical was hugely productive. These images indicate a departure for you. The detachment of distance from the subject, the beautiful colors and the nuanced, sophisticated tones that inch toward silver are superb. Really fine images, Dink.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Good to hear from you on this George. I try to not post anything unless I feel that it’s going to have an impact. This is why you may notice that I post and then reconsider… a lot. πŸ˜€
      Sometimes taking a break is the only way to get a new perspective. What happens to me is that I max myself out, and lose inspiration. This is when I have to stop for a while and get re-inspired by studying some of the greats. Like yourself. πŸ˜‰
      By the way, how have you been? Always great to see you around.

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      You know, you must be right about the stories this place has. The building exudes history when you stand before it. I think it was built in 1930, or some time around then. It’s been everything from a war hospital to a mad house to a training center. I like it best in the day time, and from the outside. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thank you, Sir. I knew that you had been having some trouble with your reader. I’ve heard a few others tell of the same thing, that notifications of new posts do not show in their reader. I’m hopeful that wordpress will resolve the problem soon.

      Reply
      • pleisbilongtumi

        It was not only in the reader, my dear friend. Both in my email inbox too. I hope I would see your coming post now and in the future. I had pressed to follow you via email.

Leave a Reply

