Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Clematis Among The Shadows

DSCF9242

Aware that there is certainly no competition among friends; still, I’m reluctant to post garden photographs to be viewed by some of these fine garden photographers here at WordPress.
I’ve listed, below, some links toΒ my favorite photographs from just a few of my favorite garden photographers.
Please take just a moment to check out these links
Not only are these some really good photographers, but these folks are really fun to hook up with and follow.
πŸ™‚

http://ayearinflowers.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/february-18/

http://thefuzzyfoto.wordpress.com/2013/05/12/waiting-for-daylight/

http://saltypalette.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/frangipani/

http://pleisbilongtumi.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/when-butterflies-dont-fly-agile-as-it-should-be/

37 Responses to “Clematis Among The Shadows”

  1. George Weaver

    Thank you, Dink! I don’t think I knew what a pingback really is. I’ve seen it on my blog before, but, oh, dear, I had no idea… You are so very kind to include me in your favorite garden photographers. I like the Clematis very much. This perspective reveals a very different aspect of the Clematis. I particularly enjoy seeing through “new” eyes. And you’ve done that here. Thanks again, Dink. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      I know, right? I used to get those, and be all like “who the hell’s pinging my blog??! Kind of like getting “poked” on Facebook. I mean, who in god’s name wants to get poked? I hate getting poked. All I can think about is the loud bald headed guy at my dad’s church when I was a kid. He would always jab his knuckle into my side and screech “POKE”. Jesus.

      Then I realized that it was a good thing; the pinging… not the poking. πŸ˜›

      Glad to give a shout out to you, Ma’am. You really have it going on over there at your blog.

      Reply
      • George Weaver

        πŸ™‚ Thanks, Dink! There was a plump lady who wore mink to church and real makeup when I was a kid. She pinched my cheeks HARD. I fled every time I saw her coming. That is, when I could avoid her. Haha. Those of us who grew up in churches have some funny memories of those days. Terrorized by rib pokers and cheek pinchers we were! Good memories.

      • dinkerson

        Oh, now… see? You’ve got me started on church stories. Well, we’ve gone there, so there’s no stopping me.

        I once decided to get the poking guy back… once…
        Probably six years old at the time, I crept up behind him and poked his ribs lightly. I probably had a mischievous grin from ear to ear, but that didn’t last. The old guy backhanded me so hard I summersaulted into the wall behind me. I can still remember the headache that lasted for hours.
        Dad said he was a war vet, and it was best not to test his reflexes again. πŸ˜‰

        Back then, kids were expected to know their place. πŸ™‚ However, my kids’ places are right beside me and not a step behind.

  2. John

    I think you’re too critical of yourself, my friend. You’re very good. This is certainly a photograph worth sharing, right along with all the others.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Hi John.
      Thank you.
      I would say that, rather than being to critical of myself, I’m simply aware that I’m a beginner at best. Of course, beginners can be talented or gifted, but I choose to remain ever aware that I’m here to learn; I haven’t arrived.
      I’ve never been called a timid person, but it can be a little humbling to put your soul into something and then post it to be viewed by others, many of whom I would consider to be artistic geniuses.
      I can’t tell you enough how much I’ve appreciated your support of what I do here.
      Oh, and I enjoyed your recent video posts. I’ve tried to do that very thing myself, but I turn the camera on me and I’m either a deer in the headlights, or I ramble on endlessly with no point. Lol
      Thanks again, John. πŸ˜›

      Reply
      • John

        Beginner, maybe … but, a beginner with a good eye, and that’s important. Composing a good photo is something that takes some people a very long time to learn — and, it’s the most important element, really, so the fact that you’ve got that part down pat says a great deal about your skill. I’m still a beginner myself, really. And, don’t think that you’ll learn everything — you won’t. A great photographer will tell you, that even after 2o years of shooting, they’re still learning; anyone who tells you they know all there is to know is either lying, or too full of themselves.

        I don’t know how many photo blogs you visit … I make a point of clicking on a new avatar of someone who liked a photo I liked, and going to their website, every time I look at new post on a blog I follow. Believe me: in terms of time spent photographing things, you might be a beginner, but, in terms of quality of content, you’re better than many who’ve been running photoblogs for awhile.

        But, I know where’re you’re coming from. I put off showing my photos to anyone other than my partner for the first two or three years I was taking photos. I thought he was just saying they were good because that’s what partners are supposed to do. πŸ™‚ the first photo I posted — it was on my old blog — I did a 365 project, and, the feedback I got was very gratifying, and helped build my confidence. When a complete stranger says “hey! great photo!” it really means something.

        Glad you enjoyed my long rambling videos … the first one was about the 4th take, as I couldn’t seem to stick to a point. I finally thought, to hell with it, just did it, and well, there it is, for all the world to see. I did one for my poetry blog too, though it was a ‘book review’, but, like this reply, I think I talked too much. πŸ™‚

        Make a video … as you know from following me, I like to ramble … and, I like to listen to those who ramble. I promise not to laugh. If I can put my big fat head on video, you can put your not-fat head on video. πŸ™‚
        BTW, what is your first name… I just refer to you as “Dink”.

      • dinkerson

        Thank you again, John. I was unaware that you had done a 365 photo project. That takes some commitment. It takes commitment, at least, to keep it interesting.

        My name is Nathan. Most people on wordpress call me Dink, but whatever you choose is fine with me.

      • John

        Dink works for me …. but, it’s still nice to know your given name — a face, and a name adds a bit more personality to a blogger.

  3. pleisbilongtumi

    I am really amazed by this photograph which boldly presenting the beauty against the light? …. thank you for the mention. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thanks, Suzy! I like your description. In fact that fairytalish, otherworldly but not sci fi, and slightly dark look is something that I keep trying to move closer toward. So again, I’m glad for your description, and always glad to see you stop by.

      Reply
  4. saltypalette

    Thank you for the pingback, when I first saw it in my notifications I didn’t realize it was from you. I clicked it and the image stopped me in mid-thought. It’s beautiful. So, so pretty. I love the tones and colors, puts me in mind of a cool shady corner in a well-tended garden. It surprised me too, I like that you’ve branched out (hehe) and given us such a delicate photograph.

    I will take a look at the other blogs you mention, there are two I’m not familiar with. Oh, and I got a big kick out of your church stories πŸ˜€ too funny! You’re a great story teller!

    Reply
      • Java Girl

        Yes, I’m good at reading minds! πŸ˜› Hope you and fam are doing well with this heat. We finally got a cold front this morning. A touch of Fall….yes!!

      • dinkerson

        That’s great for you. This summer hasn’t been as bad as the previous two. No drought, and the temp hasn’t risen above 95 degrees. Not to my knowledge anyway.

        The fam is doing great. Thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

