Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Natural Light

 

DSCF8141

Fuji x100
f/4
ISO 320
1/125

 

This image was taken inside the doors from the post “Your Barn Door’s Open”. The two windows against the back wall are the windows creating the secondary subject of that image.

33 Responses to “Natural Light”

    • dinkerson

      Jessica. That is just what I thought after I read your most recent post. Your writing is structured brilliantly, and packs a load of inspiration.
      Some of the information in the beginning of your post reminded me a little of Paul Johnson’s “Intellectualls”. Have you read it? Some say it has too much of a conservative slant, I didn’t get that, but wasn’t looking for it. But, in his book, Johnson explores the secret lives of several significant, historical intellectuals. He also wrote “Creators”, which is another interesting read.
      Anyway, great write up from you. I may not always comment, but that not always because your work didn’t have an impact. I’m just sayin’ πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Jessica

        No, no, it’s no problem! I wouldn’t expect you to comment every time! Thank you for your kind words.

        And, no, I haven’t read Johnson. I’ll have to look him up. Thanks for the tip. I don’t mind conservative.

        Have a great weekend!

    • dinkerson

      Good. I’m proud of the shadows and light contrasted in this image. In the original, the back wall was overexposed to almost white, the far left wall was a single shade of very light grey, the upper ceiling (hidden) was perfectly visible, and the lower ceiling was dim and shadowy.
      I applied many levels of dodging, and burning; toning and definition. And, in some areas I had to go so far as to apply B&W with a brush and then tune down the red and green filter, just to darken these areas enough to make them blend.

      Still, the original wasn’t bad at all, it just wasn’t anything like what i wanted.
      Anyway, thanks Frag. πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • fragglerocking

        lol, you’re as bad as me for ‘working’ the shots! But it isn’t it lovely when you see something, take a photo of it, be disappointed when you look at the download, then take the magic brushes and tools, and bring it back to how you saw it, how you felt. I love that bit. You did such a grand job with this.

      • dinkerson

        When I first started with photography, I read a well illustrated article from Jason Wallace on this subject of placing back into the image what you felt when you snapped it. I’ve been a fan of it ever since.
        Thanks very much, Frag. Your support is a great help.

    • dinkerson

      Wow. Getting your thoughts on this is just too cool.
      Thank you very much for checking in, and for letting me know what you think.

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thank you suzy. I love to hear my work described as beautiful even though my images can tend to be a little dark and shadowy. The places where I must go to get some of these shots have a roughneck element. And that makes it all the more interesting to get feedback like yours on the finished product.

      Reply
  1. ilargia64

    I agree…This time I would also say it is beautiful because this time the place looks so warm…Light, wood, atmosphere…You did a great “magic” work D.-….
    (I have been outside a few days…I love this new appearance!)

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thanks! πŸ™‚ You are the first to mention it. The theme, that is. This is the first theme that I’ve ever paid for. And I like it because it’s highly customizable, and it seems to display my images with better clarity. Oh, and I like the subtle shadow and 3d effect behind the photos. It was not worth what I paid, but I do like it a lot better than any of the free ones that I’ve used.

      Thank you, again, very much for your thoughtful comment. Great to read over my first cup of coffee this morning.

      Reply
  2. lolabees

    Wow! That’s a great photo. At first glance I thought it was a night photo with part of it lit up, but after reviewing your title, I realized it was the opposite! Good stuff, Dink. Is that barn a work related setting?

    Reply
  3. dinkerson

    I can see how this could easily be perceived as a night shot.
    This barn was located on the site of a tower project in Camden, Arkansas. It also sits next to the large building from the post titled “East Camden Yard”.
    I had a crew working on this tower, and I drove in just to meet the tower owner. Once I saw these buildings, I decided to drop in for a shoot on my way out of town.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Aww, thanks, Ma’am. I had a lot of fun with this, and I’m proud of the results.
      You seem to always shoot straight, so I’m glad to get your feedback.

      Reply
  4. tootlepip

    Greeting there stranger! Beautiful photography! My, you’ve been busy since last we saw each other. I just started playing around with some pictures myself, but I’m gonna have to hurry if I’m gonna catch you…. really nice. Maybe I’ll just stick to the writing….

    Reply
  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Artful stuff, Nathan. You’ve really got the goods.

    Reply
  6. George Weaver

    Well, Dink, go back and look at some of your first photos. The difference is astounding. This is way professional graphics artist editing. I really, really do like it. I am impressed by your ability to dodge and burn your way to a perfect image. I have not begun to master that. I am too shaky for one thing. I have to look for the street photographer who describes doing exactly what you describe in his editing of the close-up shots of street people. He says his work on them is almost spiritual … and it feels that way to look at it. These last images have such a velvety feel. The tones are perfect. I am reaching for superlatives to tell you how good they really are.

    I bought the Photography theme too. I just could never get it to work for me. I dunno’ why. Your images look beautiful displayed on it. Very effective. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Well thank you, Ma’am.
      This comment is one of those that you get, and then you print it out and frame it.

      I do see that, as an artist, I’ve come a long way. I know I’ve got a long way to go, but that’s what makes it fun!
      I still have a lot of the technical side left to figure out, but I’ll get there. There hasn’t been a problem, yet, so big that I haven’t found someone who has some advice to get me past it.

      Good talking to you, Ma’am. I’m pretty fond of you, really, so getting to have these conversations is always prized time.

      Reply
  7. George Weaver

    http://tinyurl.com/ofh7cfm
    Here is the link to that guy’s portraits. Among the best I’ve ever seen. He says that he gets that dark background and light applied to the face with lots of dodging and burning, etc. I was impressed by your description of how you edited this image. You are good, Dink.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Or we thought so yesterday…

      πŸ˜‰

      I checked this guy out and bookmarked his site. *He* is good. I’d love to learn from following him around.
      I’m a beginner, and these beginner’s follies are filching my style. πŸ˜›
      Wouldn’t it be fun to be able ask this guy any questions you wanted any time you wanted? I could save so much time.
      Thanks for providing this link, Granny.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

