Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Your Barn Door’s Open :)

DSCF8143

Fuji x100
f/5.6
ISO 320
1/500

42 Responses to “Your Barn Door’s Open :)”

    • dinkerson

      Hi Greta. This must be the best compliment one could get! 🙂

      I’m glad you like it, and thank you for dropping in.

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      Just so you know, I studied your window and door images just before I took this shot, and used elements of what I learned there as inspiration for this shot.

      Thanks.

      Reply
  1. The Blissful Adventurer

    This is a killer shot. Do you know the guys at “The Legion of Door WHores?” They celebrate the beauty in photo’s of doors. One of them is Mike Fiveson who writes Mike’s Look at Life. I encourage you to check them out

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Hi! Do you think so? To tell you the truth, I was on the fence about posting this one. I thought I’d give it a try, and if it failed I’d take it down after a day or so. Lol.
      A lot of people have said they like it, so… you just never know what’s going to work.

      This is not my favorite type of image to take. But that’s just me.

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thanks. And you’re right; this was tricky. It would’ve been simple to make it just look presentable, but difficult to make it really shine. Such is the way with most monochrome shots. They tend to inherently “get by”, but seldom give one pause.

      Reply
  2. fragglerocking

    Can’t agree with that Dink, some monos are quite breathtaking, I’ve yet to do one but have seen some out there! This one has a lovely old time peace and tranquility feel to it, with great light and texture. I like the thin red frame border which accentuates the black and white. Very nice work.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Well, what I was trying to say – probably didn’t say it very well – was that monochrome shots are more difficult than people sometimes think. There is more to it than just taking a picture of some random object and turning it into black and white.
      My main point was that it’s easy make a monochrome image look presentable, but takes some skill to make one that really stands out.
      This point is an important one because so many beginners think that once they click the black and white button, they’ve created art. Nevermind composition or anything else for that matter. 🙂

      I think it is likely that we agree on this, Frag. After all, seven out of my top ten favorite photographs of all time are monochrome.

      I’m glad to get your thoughts on this image. And it’s cool that you mentioned the red on the frame. People seem to really like this photograph, but I can’t help but wonder if the red makes it look more special than it is. I don’t know, but I’m thinking that it might.

      Reply
  3. fragglerocking

    yes we agree! I don’t think the red border makes it more special than it already is, and I wouldn’t think it mattered if it did, the beauty is in the whole.

    Reply
  4. dinkerson

    Thanks! What I like about you is that I believe you would tell the truth. Even if it sufficed to say the image sucked. Lol 😉

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thank you, Nicole. This picture looks quite large on your site.
      I’m glad that you liked this, and happy to have your reblog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

