Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Migrating Ducks Finding Water

S0537984 (1)

fuji x100
f/5.6
ISO 320
1/2500

40 Responses to “Migrating Ducks Finding Water”

  1. suzywordmuser

    You got a stunning from me too! The sunlight in that picture is amazing, and the birds flying away really create a feeling of movement within the picture! Wonderful! 😀

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Thank you Suzy.

      This is another of those shots in which my fuji caught the sun’s glare, and I did what was needed to make it work.
      The x100 is famous/infamous for capturing glare.

      There were literally thousands of ducks in this area. I would’ve loved to have a zoom lens with me. Having only a 23mm fixed lens, I decided to make the landscaped the subject, and enhance that with the ducks to the side.
      It’s interesting to me how shooting with a fixed focal length lens can make you think more creatively.
      Thank you so much for your great comment.

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      It’s great to get feedback from a person, like you, who has a remarkable sense for art.
      Your blog is really something.

      Reply
  2. Paula

    I love everything about this photo … the open sky, the clouds, the line of ducks … fantastic light and composition 🙂

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Paula, this is really good to here. I felt like I was going in the right direction with this shot, and it’s great to hear some confirmation of that from people like you.
      I’m glad you’ve stopped in.

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      Kellie. I can’t seem to find your blog. There’s no link on your gravatar, and this link on your comment doesn’t take me there. If you get around to it, could you post a link here. I hate that wordpress has gotten rid of the “blogs I follow” page.

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      Hey, Frag. Thanks. 🙂
      I’m was trying for a smoother image with less obvious processing. It’s cool that you mentioned that!

      Reply
  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Your photos, Nathan, cause us to realise what a gift nature is, absolute gift.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Yes it is! That is what this is about; taking the time to notice such things. I’m a busy man, but I make the time to appreciate what God has given.
      I mean, aren’t we always quick to notice when He takes away? Just like kids, we are.

      Reply
  4. lolabees

    Wow! This reminds me of all the geese we’ve had around here this winter. I think they have stuck around because of the warm weather. The number of them is beyond anything I’ve ever seen. Cool pic, dink. I still haven’t replied to your awesome comment on my blog. I’ll get there… 😉

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Darn global warming. Or, wait… climate change. Or whatever the hell ever they call it these days.

      Al Gore and Alfred Hitchcock told us this was possibly going to happen.

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      Hi Melanie. Thank you.

      Lol, so many comments, you’ve just made my day. 🙂

      And, you know, it was cool to drop by your blog and discover that you’re a professional and a bit of a genius with this camera bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

