Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Under the Clouds

S0647811

Windmills Shot Along KS Hwy 24
Fuji x100
f/11
ISO 200
1/58

27 Responses to “Under the Clouds”

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Wow, Nathan, you’re pretty awesome with all this. You’ve got to get a job at it or make a calendar or something… Really beautiful. I buy a calendar each year for my wall at work. If you made one, I promise I’ll buy (new photos in it though! 🙂 )

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      This must likely be the nicest compliment I’ve received about my photography, Noeleen.
      As an amateur photographer, I study the best, and hold my work against theirs. That helps inspire me to grow and learn, but it can also keep me in a critical mindset about my work.
      This comment is just what I needed. Made my day. 🙂

      Reply
    • dinkerson

      Yes, I’m with you.
      I had some better images of the clouds, but without the light on the blades. I rather wanted the clouds to be an afterthought, with the turbines as the subject, so I went with this one.

      Reply
  2. lolabees

    I just caught this one again as I was coming back to finish our convo, and I really like it. It reminds me of Don Quixote– the windmills that were giants. Do you know that story?

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      I do know the story. It’s on my booklist.
      Lol, now that you’ve mentioned it, I remember the windmill giants from reading excerpts of the book in high school literature. I haven’t thought about that in years. 🙂

      Reply
  3. rangewriter

    The sky looks like the ocean upside down. I also love the windmills. These modern marvels of old fashioned technology fascinate me.

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      Yes, they fascinate me too. On this day, I stood directly beneath one of these goliaths. What an experience! Those blades really move along at good clip.
      It was fun, and a little thrilling, to hear the loud “Whoosh!” of the forced wind being cut by the blades as they passed along overhead.

      Glad to get your thoughts on my images. Thanks for dropping in today.

      Reply
  4. niki

    I’ve always been fascinated by windmills 🙂 so I really like this image. The sky looks amazing!

    Reply
    • dinkerson

      The sky worked didn’t it? 🙂 These clouds were not there when I pulled in for this shoot. They moved in very fast, and were gone minutes later. This was just one of those fortuitous moments. 🙂

      Thanks! And I will get over to your blog very soon. Can’t wait to see what you do there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

